my photo wide 2010Enclave Publishing has been a big supporter of Realm Makers, and we are so excited to have Steve join us again at the conference this year. He’s going to be giving 2 workshops as well as taking appointments. Realm Makers is still 6 weeks away, though–so long and so short at the same time. In the meantime, let’s just see what Steve has to share with us today!

 

1. What have been some of the challenges in building Enclave Publishing? What have you had fun doing?

 

Most of the challenges are what happens behind the scenes with accounting, production infrastructure, marketing, and sales. Publishing into the major sales channels is no easy task.

Also a year ago, at RealmMakers we announced the name change and our new branding. But more challenging has been publishing 17 new titles in one year (Oct. ’14 – Oct. ’15) is quite aggressive…And expensive.

The fun part is in acquisitions. Finding those stories that are great to read and are what we hope others will enjoy too.

 

2. What are some exciting things coming up for Enclave that we should keep an eye out for?

 

You may have seen the cover reveals for our Fall titles already. The stand alone novel by John Otte about a pregnant teenage cyborg called THE HIVE. And the new fantasy trilogy by Ronie Kendig. Along with the continuation of the two series by Nadine Brandes and R.J. Anderson…it is brilliant Fall lineup! Next year will see a new Steampunk series by an established author and both a new fantasy trilogy and the launch of a new science fiction trilogy, by debut authors.

 

3. What is Enclave Publishing currently looking for?

 

I recommend authors read a few of our recent releases to get a sense of the variety of our offerings. Both fantasy and science fiction continue to be on our radar. In addition we hope to find something that would fit the “supernatural” genre.

 

4. As an agent and head of Enclave, how do you balance it all? (Do you edit for Enclave too?)

 

I endeavor to keep the agency and Enclave very separate. In fact the agents in the agency have to submit projects to Enclave like any other agent would. It is that separate.

I have done some editing for Enclave but mostly we hire top level editors who have done work for every major publisher in the industry. This is one area we do not try to skimp.

I enjoy working hard. The agency is the full-time focus. I am privileged to have a roster of highly professional authors. Plus I have three other great agents who work for me (Tamela, Karen, and Dan).
I have an assistant at Enclave who is marvelous (Margaret) and someone to help with marketing (Thomas).

I simply work hard as managing all the moving parts.

 

5. Steve’s Faves:

 

DuneFood: Popcorn. Steak. (nothing revealing here)

 

Color: I’m a guy. Guys don’t usually have a good answer to that question. I’m just glad you are wearing clothes that have a color … 🙂

 

Book: I have over 5,000 books in my library. I could list 100 top favorites. Depends on fiction … and the genre or whether it is fiction and the topic. Since we are talking to a speculative audience I’ll answer accordingly. We have to eliminate the obvious Lewis & Tolkein answers. Therefore I would say that DUNE by Frank Herbert and ENDER’S GAME by Orson Scott Card are my two most favorite science fiction stories. (I have read all 19 books in the Dune series twice. The main title four times.)
Fantasy: I would include The Song of Albion trilogy by Stephen Lawhead and The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever by Stephen Donaldson (only the first six).

 

Movie: Another tough question. Depends on the mood. (And we have to eliminate Star Wars because it wouldn’t be fair)
For fun – Galaxy Quest
War movie – Saving Private Ryan – saw in the theatre with my brother-in-law and I will never forget it.
Sports movie – Remember the Titans and Secretariat (even though the sport is horse racing – it is unforgettable)
TV shows on DVD – Dick Van Dyke, the Odd Couple, Duck Dynasty, The Lucy Show, The Bob Newhart Show. All family friendly and hilarious no matter how many times we watch them.

 

6. What do you hope attendees get out of your workshops?

 

The class on contracts is designed to scare authors straight. To realize the importance of the agreement they sign.
The class on theology and philosophy is brand new. I’m hoping it will create discussion and and awareness of the power of religious thought and philosophy found in the genre we love to read so much.

 

7. Do you have any advice for the newbies, whether it is their first time at Realm Makers or first time at any writers conference?

 

Relax. We won’t bite. At least not very hard.
Be a sponge and soak it all in.
Set reasonable expectations. If you expect to learn something more than you knew when you arrived you will count the event successful. If you expect to come away with a book contract and a million dollar check…you might be disappointed.

 

 

 

Daffy8. What is the weirdest attempted bribe you’ve ever received (as agent or editor)?

 

Depends on the definition of a bribe. I doubt anyone thought they were influencing my decisions. They were only trying to be memorable.
One person knew I was a basketball fan and included a signed photo of Michael Jordan. I returned that. It was too valuable.
I’ve received candy, CDs, knick-knacks, and even cash (presumably to cover return postage because they couldn’t find stamps).
The strangest non-bribe was a motivational speaker whose book was on “getting your ducks in a row.” He included a three and a half foot high stuffed cartoon duck, like Daffy in the Disney cartoon. The box was massive. I donated it to our church for a giveaway at a kids event.

 

And there you have it, folks. See, Steve isn’t so scary once he starts talking. 🙂 I hope we’ll be seeing you at Realm Makers in August!

