It’s a great day on this fair blog of ours… Because whether the sun shines where you are or the clouds have overcast the sky, your day is sure to get brighter after you’ve taken a glimpse into the mind of Tosca Lee.

Welcome back to the blog, Tosca!
1. How did you get into writing?
 I always wrote–I was first published in third grade when I wrote an article about the death of my beloved bulldog, Oliver, for a pet lovers’ newsletter (this is back in the day when newsletters arrived in the mail). It was very dramatic (“This couldn’t be MY dog, could it?? Not MY dog??”). I won contests after that, but never thought of writing as a thing until I came home from my freshman year of college for spring break and blurted out to my Dad that I’d like to write a book. I had been talking about one of my (to this day) favorite novels of all time, The Mists of Avalon, and saying how I wish I could take a reader on an emotional ride like that. He made me a deal: he’d pay me what I would have made that summer working as a bank teller if I worked full time writing a novel. I wrote my first novel that summer. It’s still in a crate in my basement with a bunch of other skeletons…
2.What are you most looking forward to at Realm Makers?
I love the people. And their t-shirts. Realm Makers attendees have the best t-shirts.
11953231_984148801615432_4415547999162681810_n
Author’s Assemble shirt, anyone?
3. What draws you to speculative fiction?
I’ve always been drawn to it. The Mists of Avalon is classified as fantasy. My favorite before that was Lord Valentine’s Castle. I used to watch superhero cartoons on Saturday mornings, and just always gravitated toward this kind of story.
4. Who is your favorite speculative fiction Hero(ine)?
I love the female superhero. Isis (if you’re old enough to remember the Isis/Shazam Power Hour…) Wonder Woman. Morgan Le Fay. Princess Ariel from Thunder the Barbarian. Ripley in Aliens. Any cool fantasy/fiction heroine, I’m in. I also identify with the great male characters, but as a woman, I guess I identify with the chicks more.
5.When did you know this was the field for you?
From waaaaay back when. Since I started reading and watching TV.
6.Will you be dressing up for the conference’s Costume Dinner? 
Well now I’m feeing pressured. I guess I have to get the Xena Warrior Princess outfit out… and the round killing thing.
xena-warrior-princess-armor-1
7.Coffee or Tea?
Both. Coffee if I’m on deadline. Tea if I’m trying to avoid feeling bloated. Or both in the same day.
8.What as your favorite TV show as a kid? What is it now?
Isis. Wonder Woman. Fantasy Island. Thundarr. He-Man. And then, later, Buffy the Vampire Slayer. La Femme Nikita. Xena Warrior Princess. These days, The 100. Or Game of Thrones, Reign, Outlander, The Blacklist, The Colony, Limitless, or Top Chef. (Hey, I’m allowed to be normal on occasion…) I love American Idol and The Voice—I enjoy seeing people do what they are great at. I keep an updated list of what I’m watching on TV on my website. Btw, I think the remake of Battlestar Galactica is one of the smartest shows I’ve ever seen.
Btw, I love the RM crowd. These are my people. I can’t wait for conference this year!
We can’t wait to see you, Tosca! Thanks for being with us today.

ToscaLeeA.6016.1206Tosca Lee is the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of ISCARIOT; THE LEGEND OF SHEBA; DEMON: A MEMOIR; HAVAH: THE STORY OF EVE; and the Books of Mortals series with New York Times bestseller Ted Dekker (FORBIDDEN, MORTAL and SOVEREIGN). Her highly-anticipated new supernatural thriller, THE PROGENY, releases May 24, 2016.

Tosca received her B.A. in English and International Relations from Smith College in Northampton, Massachusetts with studies at Oxford University. She is a lifelong world adventure traveler and makes her home in the Midwest. To learn more about Tosca, visitwww.toscalee.com.

