Ever wonder what The Most Interesting Accountant in the World’s favorite TV show is?

Well hang onto your hats, folks, ’cause we’re about to find out!

Welcome once again to the blog, Chris!

1. How did you get into writing/accounting?

Well, it’s tough to answer this, because it’s really a two-phase process — how I started writing, and why I started my CPA firm. I should probably start by saying I don’t write speculative fiction (or any fiction at all), though I do have this idea that I can’t get out of my head. I write non-fiction, focused on giving hope and practical strategies to those who have chronic illnesses. I started writing because I had to process my own life. My daughter is autistic and epileptic, and I have a seizure disorder myself. Things were spiraling out of control, and I could not process them, so I started writing. Eventually, my writing grew to a blog, and my tagline became “Redefining Normal. Building Hope.” In the process of writing, I have met easily a thousand authors, and built friendships with many of them. As they learned I am a CPA with my “day job,” questions started coming my way — questions about taxes, questions about business structure, questions for what is taxable and what isn’t. I realized at some point that I could combine my love of writing with my heart to help my friends. That is how Chris Morris CPA was born. I specialize in serving the writing and creative community, because I know what the struggles are, and how to answer the questions that so many are asking.
2. What are you most looking forward to at Realm Makers?
The sense of community and collective creativity at Realm Makers is unlike anything I have ever experienced anywhere in my life. There is something profound and unique about seeing so many people who are both in love with Christ and in touch with their creativity that is inspiring.
3. What draws you to speculative fiction?
For as long as I can remember, I have been enamored with the more fantastic elements of fantasy and science fiction. Maybe it’s my desire to believe that there is always a new and

100405697_narnia_248369c
Image Source

exciting adventure just around the corner, or just on the other side of the wardrobe, or
maybe it’s because I like the idea of letting my imagination roam free in worlds other than ours. I am not entirely sure, but I know that I have been a fan of speculative fiction for probably my whole life. This is part of why I am so thrilled to have the privilege to sponsor Realm Makers, because I get to rub shoulders with the creative elite.

4. Who is your favorite speculative fiction Hero(ine)?
Calling out one hero or heroine is so difficult. I love Raistlin and Caramon Majere from Dragonlance. I am inspired by the intellectual strength and fierce loyalty from Hermione Granger. Samwise Gamgee is perhaps the best example of undying friendship I have ever read. And that’s just pulling from the fantasy realm. Instead, I will focus on my most recent hero that I greatly enjoy. I am reading the Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss, and his protagonist Kvothe is fascinating. Such as mixture of cunning wits, a thirst for learning, and physical ability. Of course, this will change as soon as I pick up another book, I am sure.
5. When did you know this was the field for you?
6. Will you be dressing up for the conference’s Costume Dinner? 
That is a very interesting question. I am definitely interested in thinking about dressing up, but the options for a less-than-skinny dude who is 6’7” are a bit limited. I could probably pull off Hagrid, and others have suggested Treebeard, but i am still not sure. I’d love to hear suggestions from others about what you think I should choose as my costume.
7. Coffee or Tea?
I am a coffee snob, through and through. I am the guy who knows why Starbucks coffee isn’t exactly the best. I have four different ways at my home to make coffee, and I understand when each would be more appropriate. This is why I’m so happy that I get to be the Great Giver of Caffeine for 2016 RealmMakers. There couldn’t be a better fit in all the world for me as a sponsor than this.
8. What as your favorite TV show as a kid? What is it now?
Far and away, my favorite show as a little tyke was the Dukes of Hazard. It’s embarrassing to watch it now, for a couple reasons. Firstly, the acting is terrible, though I guess one could argue it matches the script writing perfectly. Secondly, I still secretly enjoy watching the show, even today. For today, that’s also a tough question, because it changes so often. At this very moment as I am writing, my current favorite is probably Star Trek: TNG. I also thoroughly enjoyed White Collar, and I like what I have watched so far of Shannarra.
picard_clapping
Thanks for sitting down with us, Chris! It was a blast.

ChrisMorrisFINAL (83 of 94)

Chris Morris specializes in supporting authors and other entrepreneurs by providing tax and accounting support, but does so in easy-to-understand language, and even occasionally sports a sense of humor to boot. He has been serving the writing community for several years now, and is proud to provide tax and accounting services at reasonable prices, without any discount on the expertise. You can find him at chrismorriscpa.com or call him at 520.789.6153.

