We have a real treat for you today, Spekkies! This year’s keynote, Thomas Locke, sits down with us to answer a few questions.

Welcome Thomas!

1. How did you get into writing?
I came to faith at age twenty-eight, and started writing two weeks later.  Up to that point, I had never written anything longer than a business report.
I wrote for nine years and finished seven novels before my first was accepted for publication.
2. What are you most looking forward to at Realm Makers?
I have wanted to participate ever since I heard about Realm Makers last spring.  To be among other believers who are passionate about speculative fiction…How cool is that???
3. What draws you to speculative fiction?
This was my first love as a young reader.  When I started writing, I had the honor of being mentored by Arthur C. Clarke.  I will talk about that experience in one of my lectures.
4. Who is your favorite speculative fiction author?

the_kraken_project_bookcover
Image Source
There are a very wide number of extremely talented authors out there today.  One that I have just completed reading is Douglas Preston’s latest book, The Kracken Project.  Really a masterful work, strong redemptive message.
 
5. When did you know this was the field for you?

Over the past few years I’ve become increasingly frustrated by the constant negative directions that both fantasy and science fiction were taking.  Distopian fiction, hopelessness, the undead—I love a lot of these stories and think many of them are superbly written.  Even so, do they all have to be tainted by this same darkness?  Was there no place any more for the same sort of heroic adventure that so thrilled me as a youngster?  Finally I decided that it was time to stop complaining and do something different.

6. Will you be dressing up for the conference’s Costume Dinner? 
No, I will be one of the grateful audience.
7. Coffee or Tea?
I am a passionate consumer of both, thank you very much.
8. What is your favorite TV show?
This past week marked the launch of a new urban fantasy series on Syfy called Magicians, based loosely on the Lev Grossman series.  It has that dark edge I mentioned earlier, but it is extremely well written and acted.  E! has now predicted it will be the top-ranked cable program of all 2016.  I think they deserve their success.
the-magicians-logo
Thanks for taking the time to share with us, Thomas! We can’t wait to hear from you in July. 

Thomas-Locke-250Thomas is an award-winning novelist with total world-wide sales of seven million (seven million!!) copies. His work has been published in twenty languages, and critical acclaim includes four Christy Awards and a 2014 induction into the Christy Hall of Fame.

Thomas Divides his time between Florida and England, where he serves as Writer in Residence at Regent’s Park College, the University of Oxford. He holds a lifelong passion for epic fantasy, science fiction, and techno-thriller stories.

