Today we welcome Suzanne and Shawn Kuhn, the “dynamic duo” behind Suzy Q For You.suzq

From Suzy:

1. How did you get into your field?
Nearly 30 years ago I began dating a man who owned a bookstore.
Eventually, I married that man and have been involved in the book industry ever since.  SuzyQ was launched as a result of my years in book retail and traveling to area events with a NYT best selling author. I saw how my love for books, authors, retail and readers gave me an edge when assisting authors in reaching and defining their audience, project development and reader interactions of all kinds.
2. What are you most looking forward to at Realm Makers?
Hanging out with the #chicgeeks.
3. What draws you to speculative fiction?

I’ve always had a soft spot for the underdog.  For years I’ve been frustrated that speculative fiction was not fully embraced within the CBA market.  I’m delighted to see that trend is finally changing.

mickey_mouse_2_138919
Image Source
4. Who is your favorite speculative fiction Hero(ine)?
Mickey Mouse?
5. Will you be dressing up for the conference’s Costume Dinner? 
Absolutely. Not sure that Shawn realized this yet, but we are dressing as one of my favorite couples.
6. Coffee or Tea?
Coffee — Ha! is this even a real question?
7. What as your favorite TV show as a kid?
Happy Days
happy-days_1876859b
aa_orphanblack_thumbnail_s2_02_web
8. What is it now?
Right now, I’m kind of obsessed with Orphan Black.
From Shawn:
1. How did you get into your field?

After 25 years of book retail ownership and management I joined the lovely SuzyQ in helping authors put their books into the hands of readers.

2. What are you most looking forward to at Realm Makers?

This is the most fun and nerd filled conference I have ever been too. The level of creativity is truly inspiring.

3. What draws you to speculative fiction?

Everything is play and is limited to the confines of one’s imagination.

4. Who is your favorite speculative fiction Hero(ine)?

Does Sharknado count? Ok, the Professor Xavier, whom I believe also taught at our venue this year, Villanova.2011532-4e3eed8256b0b_1

5. When did you know this was the conference for you?

I knew this was the conference for me when I met an accountant that was funny and saw 100 adults (term used liberally) exercise their second amendment Nerf rights and have an organized Nerf war.nerfwar

6. Will you be dressing up for the conference’s Costume Dinner?

I am planning on it though I will never look as good as Scott Minor in a uniform (or Becky in a red dress for that matter).

7. Coffee or Tea?

 Coffee, 4 cups a day, black.

8. What as your favorite TV show as a kid? What is it now?

Star Trek (the Kirk kind). House of Cards.
shatner
znb4cdu
suzyq

Suzanne and Shawn Kuhn have nearly 60 years of combined book retailing experience. They have been involved in event sales, including traveling as part of New York Times bestselling author Karen Kingsbury’s team. In 2010 Suzanne launched SuzyQ, a full-service author coaching company that works with authors, publishers and literary agents.  SuzyQ provides writers assistance in all stages of their writing journey, from think to ink.  Their customized approach allows them to specifically meet each individual clients needs through author coaching, author promotion and project management.

