Spekkies, we’ve got a real treat for you in the upcoming days. We’re going to be interviewing multiple authors who will be with us at this year’s conference. Let’s get to know them a little before we meet them in person. Today we are interviewing author Laura VanArendonk Baugh!

Welcome, Laura! Thanks for sitting down with us today. 

What are you most looking forward to about attending this year’s conference?
That’s hard to say. I want to network with other Christian writers, just to know I’m not alone; sometimes the geeky writing community can feel a bit slanted. And I want to work with people who take writing seriously and professionally.
I’m considering pitching some new work at the conference, but that’s very up in the air, still.
I’d better set real some conference goals, however, or I won’t know if I had a successful conference!
Are you a panster or a plotter? 
Um, yes?
More of a pantser, if you insist I choose, though it’s an ugly word and I wish we had an alternative. I usually have a vague idea of where the story will go, with at least a half-dozen bullet points of plot events, but from what I observe in my plotting colleagues, that does not count; not nearly enough index cards, color-coded pens, outlines, and notes. But I get to read my story fresh just like any other reader does!
What is your favorite TV show?
Not to go all hipster on you, but you’ve probably never heard of it.
No, really, I have a whole blog post on the Machiavellian studio reasons why you haven’t.

31wenn1-master675-v2
Image Source

Remember WENN is a brilliant drama about a 1940s radio station, but that’s putting it too simply. It had tight, powerful writing, fantastic characterization, and was just plain entertaining. It’s worth looking up.

And I should probably mention that I don’t really watch TV (no time!), so many of the usual suspects for favorites aren’t on my radar. I did make a point of joining others to watch Agent Carter, but that’s the only current show I’ve seen in a long, long while.
What is your #1 writer’s resource that you cannot live without? 
Is it cheating to say the internet?
Seriously, it’s amazing to be able to look up divination practices of a thousand years ago and then run them through a translator for free. Then you open a new tab and check the phase of the moon on a particular night in history. You pull up aerial photography and strangers’ vacation photos to get a visual feel for a place you’ve never been. Then you check an encouraging email from a colleague and write a blog post to answer a reader’s question about your world. How cool is this?!
Will you be coming in costume to the Awards Banquet? 
Yes. I’m a cosplayer who even includes cosplay in some fiction (http://lauravanarendonkbaugh.com/clamp-clutch-art/), so definitely, yes. There is some question as to which costume — space is a consideration in travel — but I’ll be in costume!
Thank you again, Laura! We can’t wait to meet you.
lauren
Laura was born at a very early age and never looked back. She overcame childhood deficiencies of having been born without teeth or developed motor skills, and by the time she matured into a recognizable adult she had become a behavior analyst, an internationally-recognized and award-winning animal trainer, a popular costumer/cosplayer, a chocolate addict, and of course a writer. Find her at www.LauraVanArendonkBaugh.com
