Contest Winners Announced

The long-awaited announcements have been made! We may shout the news from the rooftops!

In this year’s celebration of excellence in art and writing, the Faith and Fantasy Alliance was thrilled to present the Parable Award, five Genre Awards, and the first ever REALM AWARD at the Realm Makers Conference in Philadelphia.

Shall we ramble on with more backstory? Indeed, we shall not. (Follow this link if you’d like more information.)


The Parable Award

This award, for excellence in cover design, goes to…

Kirk DouPonce for The Bloodheart by Steve Rzasa



Want to see the five finalists again? Click here.

The Genre Award Winners


Into the Fire by Kim Vandel


The Hive by John Otte


The Shock of Night by Patrick Carr


The Mermaid’s Sister by Carrie Anne Noble


Amish Zombies from Space by Kerry Nietz

If anyone’s interested in seeing who was in the running for the Genre Award, click here. More great titles to add to your TBR pile.

And this year’s inaugural Realm Award was presented to…

Carrie Anne Noble for The Mermaid’s Sister

Mermaid's Sister

Hearty congratulations, Carrie!

Read the back cover here, if you’re interested in a captivating tail tale.


Christian Editor Connection’s Excellence in Editing Award

This year, the Realm Makers was also pleased to partner with the Christian Editor Connection to celebrate well-written, well-edited speculative fiction. Kathy Ide joined us at the costume gala (dressed as an elf!) to present the awards. There were two.


A Time to Speak by Nadine Brandes, edited by Karen Ball


Waking Beauty by Sarah E. Morin, edited by Steve Laube


Huzzah, everyone!

Until next year, write on.